First Senior Hurling Title for Moorefield

Leinster Leader Nov 9, 1963


Greatest Asset Was Fine Teamwork






Moorefield in their second year in senior ranks brought the Kildaremen’s Association Cup to Droichead Nua for the first time with a very convincing win over Broadford at Naas on Sunday.

After the first quarter, Moorefield took control in all sectors and ran out good winners. Their margin of victory would have been far greater but for the brilliant goalkeeping of Johnny Mangan.

Broadford had slightly the better of the exchanges at the start, but could not translate this into scores, due to a superb display by the Moorefield defence, brilliantly led by Harry Fay.

On the other hand, the winners with fewer chances notched valuable points from far out to give them the edge. Broadford needed a goal to give them confidence, but having failed to register this score much of the sting went out of their attack after the first quarter and it was left to their defence from then on to bear the brunt of the exchanges.


Moorefield’s greatest asset was their fine teamwork and this was very apparent in attack especially where scores were registered from passing movements.

Mick Leahy was top scorer with seven points (two from frees), but he had excellent support from Davy Dennis, Mick Monahan and Stephen Schwer in particular, who provided the openings.

Tom O’Connell was in sparkling form at midfield, ably assisted by Paddy Moore, and it was their domination in this sector which brought about Broadford’s greatest difficulties. Star of a very solid defence was Harry Fay, whose lengthy clearances and shrewd positional sense proved an inspiration to his colleagues.

Jim Barker on his right also had one of his finest hours and played a big part in success. Jim (“Ba”) Dowling and Joe Moran were also prominent under pressure.


In addition to goalie J. Mangan, the star of the Broadford team, Ted Duffy, Owen Malone and Sean Mooney battled gamely in defence. John Cummins and Joe Lynam tried hard at midfield throughout, while in attack only Joe Ennis proved a threat with scoring efforts.

Moorefield’s total was compiled by M. Leahy (0-7), W. Quinn (1-0), M. Monahan (0-2) and D. Dennis (0-1) with Joe Ennis (0-2) and J. Lynam (0-1) replying for Broadford. Referee John Kelly (Suncroft) had excellent control over a sporting, well conducted contest.

Moorefield:  Tony Breen, Joe Moran, Ned Goff, Jim Dowling Jim Barker, Harry Fay, Colm Ruffley, Paddy Moore, Tom O’Connell, Davy Dennis (capt), Stephen Schwer, Mick Monahan, Mick Leahy, Art Kiely, Liam Sherry.

Subs: Billy Quinn for A. Kiely, Hugh Byrne for J. Sherry.

Broadford: J. Mangan, S. Mooney, P. Gorry, S. Leonard, O. Malone, T. Duffy, S. Hynes,  J. Lynam, J. Cummins, J. Ennis, M. Conlon, J. Flood, S. Conway, D. Thornton, S. Hackett.

This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.